South Cambridgeshire Hall Cambourne Business Park Cambourne Cambridge CB3 6EA

t: 08450 450 500 f: 01954 713149

dx: DX 729500 Cambridge 15 minicom: 01480 376743 www.scambs.gov.uk

Wednesday 12 July 2006



South
Cambridgeshire
District Council

To: Chairman – Councillor MP Howell

Vice-Chairman - Councillor R Hall

Members of the Scrutiny and Overview Committee – Councillors RE Barrett, RF Bryant, Mrs SM Ellington, Mrs EM Heazell, PT Johnson, SGM Kindersley, MJ Mason, DC McCraith, DH Morgan, Mrs CAED Murfitt, CR Nightingale,

Mrs HM Smith, RT Summerfield and Dr SEK van de Ven

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend the next meeting of SCRUTINY AND OVERVIEW COMMITTEE, which will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER at South Cambridgeshire Hall on THURSDAY, 20 JULY 2006 at 2.00 p.m.

Yours faithfully **GJ HARLOCK** Chief Executive

AGENDA

PAGES

PROCEDURAL ITEMS

1. Apologies

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting

3 - 10

To authorise the Chairman to sign the Minutes of the meeting held on 15 June 2006 as a correct record.

3. Declarations of Interest

Please note that when considering the review of any decision in respect of which a member of the Committee is subject to a party whip, the member must declare the existence of the whip. Any Councillor who is a member of an Advisory Group which has discussed an item that is now being scrutinised cannot participate in that debate.

4. Public Questions

5. Draft Agenda Programme and Programme of Key Decisions

11 - 14

PRIORITIES AND MAJOR ISSUES

6. Call-In: Climate Change Advisory Group

15 - 20

7. Presentation from the Conservation, Sustainability and Community Planning Portfolio Holder

8.	Presentation	from th	e Housing	Portfolio	Holder
Ο.	riesenialion	II OIII UI	e i iousiliy	FULLION	HOIUEI

9.	Cost of Standards Hearings	21 - 24
10.	Developing a Policy on Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) Checks	25 - 46
11.	Scrutiny and Overview Committee Webpage	47 - 60

12. Monitoring of Portfolio Holders

June's Committee meeting agreed that the monitoring roles should be allocated to its members. With the approval of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman the monitoring roles have been allocated as follows:

Community Development: HM Smith (Lib/Dem) & DC McCraith (Con)

Conservation: SEK van de Ven (Lib/Dem) & SM Ellington **Environmental Health:** RF Bryant (Ind) & CAED Murfitt (Ind)

Housing: RE Barrett (Con) & EM Heazell (Lib/Dem)

Information, Resources and Staffing: MJ Mason (Ind) & RT

Summerfield (Lib/Dem)

Planning: SGM Kindersley (Lib/Dem) & CR Nightingale (Con)

Leader: PT Johnson (Con) & DH Morgan (Con)

Councillors MP Howell and R Hall will deputise in the absence of any monitors.

STANDING ITEMS

13. To Note the Dates of Future Meetings

2006: August 17, September 21, October 19, November 16 & December 21.

2007: January 18, February 15, March 15, April 19 & May 17.

All meetings to start at 2pm